2017-2018 Officers

President - Zac Cates
zcates@sfcs.com

President Elect - Kyle Waltz
kylewaltz@waltzengineeredsales.com 

Vice President - David Rann
dlrann@burnsmcd.com

Treasurer - Ryan Browning
rmbrowning@burnsmcd.com

Governor - Wesley Southall
cwsouthall@burnsmcd.com

Governor - Patrick Murdock
pmurdock@trane.com

Governor - Patrick Castelvecchi
jpcastelvecchi@burnsmcd.com

2017-2018 Committee Chairs

Membership - Wayne Hash
whash@sjincva.com

Student Activities - Robert Mayfield
rmayfield@spectrumpc.com

CTT - Kyle Waltz
kylewaltz@waltzengineeredsales.com

Government Grassroots - Zac Cates
zcates@SFCS.com

Historian - Patrick Murdock
pmurdock@trane.com

Research Promotion - Paul Holloway
pholloway@lpa-inc.com

Newsletter - David Rann
dlrann@burnsmcd.com

Webmaster - James Sledd
jesledd@burnsmcd.com

President's Corner

Welcome back!

As the summer winds down, it is once again time to kick off the ASHRAE year. In reality, the ASHRAE year begins on July 1, but we as the officers spend the summer planning the events for the year.

This summer, in August, our chapter hosted the ASHRAE Region 3 Chapters’ Regional Conference (CRC) at the Hotel Roanoke. This event occurs in Roanoke every 10 years and was a huge success thanks to all volunteers who worked extremely hard to make this happen. I know many people left the conference with a great first impression of Roanoke and an enhanced enthusiasm for continued involvement in ASHRAE.

As we don’t want to “reinvent the wheel” every year, we hope to keep many things the same from last year. Plans are in the works for lunch meetings in the upstairs White Room at Blue 5, technical tours, and a spring scholarship fundraiser golf tournament.

We also plan to continue our relationship with higher ed. schools such as Liberty, Virginia Tech, VMI, and Virginia Western to encourage the students to consider a career in HVAC and related industries. We’d like to encourage all members with kids to speak at their local K-12 career day and let us know about the good work you are doing!

As always the call for volunteers remains. The Roanoke ASHRAE chapter would not exist without membership engagement. Please think about reaching out and asking what you can do to help put any of the above mentioned activities together. I think you may find the relationships you forge will make your life better.

I’m looking forward to an exciting year, and I hope to see you next week.

Zachary Cates
President, ASHRAE Roanoke Chapter